Greg Dunn’s beautiful Neurons

Artist and Neuroscience-PhD-in-training Greg Dunn paints sublime gold-leaf infused images of neurons that have already been commissioned by neuroscience departments at Carnegie Mellon and the University of California, San Diego. He explains his art:

I enjoy Asian art. I particularly love minimalist scroll and screen painting from the Edo period in Japan. I am also a fan of neuroscience. Therefore, it was a fine day when two of my passions came together upon the realization that the elegant forms of neurons (the cells that comprise your brain) can be painted expressively in the Asian sumi-e style. Neurons may be tiny in scale, but they posess the same beauty seen in traditional forms of the medium (trees, flowers, and animals).

His nature-like neurons would be both thought provoking and soothing in a healthcare space, particularly one having to do with neurology but I’d also LOVE to have one hanging in my apartment! This is always my goal with the blog, to find art that seems “right” for a healthcare space but that I wouldn’t hesitate for a moment to hang at the foot of my own bed. Weirdly, while googling Greg’s work I noticed that the UK’s Daily News wrote about him just a few days ago.

(via medgadget)

Leave a Reply

